A BUIRA Fellowship can be awarded to those who have made an outstanding academic contribution to industrial relations scholarship, as well as demonstrating a significant contribution to the community in the field and within BUIRA.

Candidates must have exhibited a substantial and original contribution to the intellectual pursuit of the field of industrial relations by developing new insights, new methods or substantial empirical achievements. This contribution should reflect sound theory, scientific method and relevance. Examples of this contribution include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Outstanding thought leadership, and high impact/quality publications from a variety of industrial relations outlets e.g. books, peer-reviewed articles, major reports
  • Pedagogical research that has led to a demonstrable impact on the practice of industrial relations education.

Normally nominees must have had a significant role within BUIRA. This contribution should be, or have been, active and sustained. It can be evidenced by, for example:

  • Membership of the BUIRA Stewardship or Executive Committee (current BUIRA Stewards and Executive Committee members are ineligible for nomination whilst holding these roles)
  • Contribution to the leadership of BUIRA Study Groups
  • Contribution to BUIRA’s Doctoral workshops
  • Engagement with BUIRA’s publications


Name Year of Fellowship
Professor Anne McBride, University of Manchester, UK 2023
Emeritus Professor Ralph Darlington, University of Salford, UK 2023
Professor Roger Seifert, University of Wolverhampton, UK 2023
Emeritus Professor Michael Gold, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK 2023
Emeritus Professor Linda Dickens, MBE, University of Warwick, UK 2023
Emeritus Professor Ed Heery, Cardiff University, UK 2023
Professor Jane Holgate, University of Leeds, UK 2023
Professor Stephanie Tailby, University of the West of England, UK 2023
Professor Phil Taylor, University of Strathclyde, UK 2023
Professor Greg Bamber Monash University, Australia 2022
Professor Linda Clarke, University of Westminster, UK 2022
Emeritus Professor Paul Edwards, University of Birmingham, UK 2022
Professor Anne-Marie Greene, University of York, UK 2022
Emeritus Professor John Kelly, Birkbeck, University of London, UK 2022
Professor Miguel Martínez Lucio, University of Manchester, UK 2022
Professor Sian Moore, University of Greenwich, UK 2022
Professor Melanie Simms, University of Glasgow, UK 2022
Professor Mark Stuart, University of Leeds, UK 2022